Vitamin B6 for ME/CFS: Works for me

Recent research suggests that levels of vitamin B6 in the gut distinguish sufferers of ME/CFS (myalgic encephalomyelitis, aka chronic fatigue syndrome) from healthy people. “Good enough!” says I, “I’ll give it a shot.”

First, though, I looked for information on the most effective form and dosage. Here’s what I found:

  • The P-5-P (or P5P) form is most likely to be effective. If you get regular B6, then your body will have to convert it into P-5-P; if you have a flaw in this conversion, then you’ll get less benefit than you would from P-5-P.
  • Most general medical authorities recommend 50 mg per day. Some ME/CFS sites recommend 100 mg per day. Research suggests that you would have to take much more to suffer from a significant side effect, although my experience was different.

So I bought this product and started taking the maximum dose – 50 mg twice per day. Zoinks! It worked. The first day I took it at lunch and dinner. I woke up in the middle of the night with energy to spare. Since then, I’ve had noticeably more energy and a lower resting heart rate, and possibly during exertion.

It also makes my urine darker, which makes me think I’m getting more than I can process. (This has been true since I reduced the dosage, too.)

The only problem was that I started to feel disoriented. (This might be an oddity of my biology. This probiotic had the same effect.) So I reduced the dose to 50 mg per day, and all is good.

B12?

For less reason, I also take vitamin B12. This, along with B9 (folate, which I also take, but in a prescribed form), might help me get these benefits from B6. I went through a similar process of information gathering, and ended up buying this product (1000 mcg of methylcobalamin) and taking it once a day. Honestly, I can’t tell whether it works, but there are reasons think that it contributes to the effectiveness of my other medications and supplements.

One response to “Vitamin B6 for ME/CFS: Works for me

  1. Reblogged this on Tracy Duvall.

    Like

Leave a Reply

